Mesty Croft Primary

Believe and Achieve


Early Years


Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Nursery & Reception

In the EYFS your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them develop skills in 4 specific areas.

These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.


These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning.  Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outdoors.

Alongside this and planning from children’s interests, we also have learning themes for each half term.


In the EYFS, children’s learning and development is divided up into age bands which overlap.

This is because every child is different and children do not grow and develop at the same rate.

Birth-11months, 8-20months, 16-26months, 22-36months, 30-50months, 40-60months, ELG’s


These age bands and ‘what to expect’ for each stage across the 7 areas of learning and development can be found in the link below.